Naiveté

My girls are lovely, loving people.  They are curious and compassionate.  They are everything five year old girls can be, including growing up far too fast for their mother’s taste.

They are going to their first big kid birthday party this weekend.  My BFF lives in Massachusetts, and we get down there to see her as much as our mutual schedules allow, ut it is never a frequently as any of us would like.  Her twins are turning six, and my girls  are going to the party, a screening of some Scooby Doo movie.

The girls have been counting down the days.  I’ve ordered presents from Amazon, and we’ll wrap them at my parents’ tomorrow, but the girls have been writing plays, and making art from recycled objects, and the stack of cards they’ve made is impressive, each one covered in hearts and rainbows in crayola profusion.

I’ve told them that there won’t be time to perform; we and twenty other kids are meeting the twins at the theatre.  I’ve told them that we have ordered other presents for them, but Beara has an entire backpack full of the creations she’s made.  I think they understand that their play is going to have to wait, and I’m sure that the twins will graciously (if somewhat confusedly) accept the proffered cards and craft projects, but I find myself torn.  I cherish the loving, creative offerings my kids make, but I know that at some point they are going to be around more worldly, less forgiving children.  I wonder how such children will perceive and treat my sweet girls, and how they’ll handle the experience…

This entry was posted in adventures, ain't a bowl full of cherries. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Naiveté

  1. Carolyn 'n Murph says:

    When dd is in her ‘giving’ mood and has whipped up a Crayola creation for a peer, I try to give their mom a heads-up well before she’s going to give it to them. Luckily we’ve had moms who are very considerate when it comes to these things and they, in turn, chat with their kiddos beforehand. It’s always worked out for us. The kids are polite, say ‘thanks’ , and then hand it over to their respective zookeepers. I’ve also taught dd to just say thanks when given ANYthing and then to hand it over to me if she didn’t want it or doesn’t know what to do with it. We’ve had some surprise moments when an elderly person thought they be nice and give her stickers (which she doesn’t care for too much) and she’s told them, quite bluntly, “NO, I don’t want it.” Any chance you can email your friend prior to meeting up? Frankly, the average child may refuse to take the items and/or may just walk away from your children. Been there, had to go through it. If it happens (and I hope it doesn’t) it can become a learning moment for the giver; they will now know how it feels to be rejected and will, hopefully, be less likely to reject someone else in the future. They get to add to their empathy database. 🙂 Hope they have fun!

    • Siggi says:

      These particular birthday kids are of no concern at all; one showed a little bit of confusion at some of the presents, but both were gracious and grateful, not to mention attentive, which is saying something for not-quite six year olds! Happy kids, happy mom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

