No comprende

The girls finished their once a week immersion Spanish class last week, and they miss it.  I don’t speak Spanish beyond knowing a few vocabulary words, and, as this was their first drop-off class, I didn’t improve my language skills along with them.  Heck, I couldn’t even really help them with their homework, as I didn’t know how to pronounce anything, and I don’t trust myself to be able to compare how I sound with some online pronunciation program. 

Beara, in particular, seems to have a real gift for languages.  She wants to learn both Spanish and Chinese, and I want to support her, obviously, but how can I best do that when she really needs immersion (not asking a five year old to conjugate verbs, sorry) and I simply don’t speak the language?  I’m currently holding off on Rosetta Stone, since she seems a bit young for it, but maybe I’m wrong?  Alternately, maybe I should find educational media for myself, and just try to stay ahead of her?  (Did I mention that she most certainly did NOT get her aptitude for languages from me?  Oi.)

Part of my issue is with drop-off classes in general, but especially with classes on things I don’t know myself.  We like to integrate and circle back to what is happening in our not-facilitated-by-me homeschool activities, and I simply can’t do that if I wasn’t there and don’t personally know the content.  A *family* Spanish class would be perfect, but I’ve never heard of such a thing.  I wonder if I could find a Spanish-speaking family that would be interested in immersion playdates?  Hm.

Anyway, I welcome your suggestions and input.  Thank you!

This entry was posted in curricula, Foreign Languages. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No comprende

  1. Greg Strong says:

    Deja que te ayude,

    For pronunciation you can go to forvo.com and check out individual words. They are recorded by speakers from around the world so you can potentially hear the difference between the same word being spoken by someone from Spain and someone from Mexico. The nerd in me finds that kind of cool.

    http://www.sorpresatv.com/Article.asp?id=924883
    This has a couple streaming videos on it of childrens shows in spanish.

    http://www.study-spanish.org.uk/3-popular-spanish-learning-dvds-for-children-reviews/
    This is a list of some good dvds for children

    And here’s another fun show for kids using spanish from PBS no less.
    http://www.gpb.org/salsa/term/episode

    Much love to you and the family,
    Greg

  2. Grandma Freya says:

    I wish I could help you with this. I will say that the younger a child is started on different languages, the easier it is.
    And, Darlin’, if you don’t have the language gene, you can do whatever you want, and you will not be able to stay ahead of them. Seriously. You don’t have to know everything, 🙂
    However, if they ever decide to do Hebrew, I might be of some use in the beginning. 🙂
    Shana Tova to you all

Leave a Reply

