In Theory…

… I’ve got everything I need, supplies and curricula-wise, to start our more formal Fall.  That said, I *did* just order Mathematicians are People, Too (vols 1 & 2), and Hakim’s The Story of Science: Aristotle Leads the Way.  (Great books for integrating math and science into historical studies, but also a way to deal with not having our homeschool space learner-ready; we can’t start until everything is here, right?  RIGHT?  Work with me here, people!)

… Buddy will work along with us, listen/play quietly while we work, or do PBSkidsplay while I work with his sisters.  This is me, not holding my breath.

… Singapore 1A (we went with the Standards Edition) is only half a year’s worth of work, but, in my overall plan, I’m spreading it out until June.  If they (or just one of them) go(es) faster/slower/not at all, so be it.

… SOTW 1 is one year’s worth of work, but I’m divvying it up; everything pre-Crete is scheduled pre-June, Crete and Greece over the Summer, and Rome in Fall of 2012.  That allows us plenty of time to explore each group of cultures, esp India, China, and Africa, which get a month each in the beginning of the new year.  I’m contemplating math/history cross-over projects, but not to seriously, since I don’t want to overly commit to *my* timeline for either subject since it might get in the way of *their* self-directed learning.

… this schedule will give us the wiggle and play room my kids and I need, to tangent, to unschool, to get the and do nothing for a fortnight, etc.  It will hopefully also allow us to take on other extracurriculars, esp in Jan.  The girls are starting rec dept soccer (10 weeks, I think) this coming Sunday, and four weeks of homeschool Spanish (one hour a week, followed by playtime) soon after that.

… after getting in the groove with HWT (pre-K, K, and 1, depending), ETC (books A, 1, and 2, depending), and independent reading in September, they’ll all keep going on their own. I’m hoping this isn’t completely delusional, since they all worked on these pretty independently this summer anyway.

… I’ll help them each expand upon their needlework skills in October, so they can start needlepoint ornaments (on rigid plastic shapes, in real wool) for grandparents in November, and hopefully have them done in time for Christmas.  (Yes, we celebrate it, along with Chanukkah and Solstice.)

we’ll all do Nanowrimo in November, having spent some time on the 7 traits of writing in October. (Or, more likely, with the Young Writer’s Project Elementary workbook, since it a) ROCKS, and b) is actually designed for fiction, which the seven traits are not.)  I took dictation from the girls last year, but they didn’t get very far toward their 500 word goal.  With Dragon Speaking Naturally, hopefully they’ll do much better (and leave me more time to my *own* novel).

… we’ll do some kitchen science and math in connection with baking our hearts out in December.  We spend more on baking huge tins of mixed deliciousness than we would on presents, and it takes far longer than shopping would, and don’t even talk to me about shipping headaches.  My Domestic Goddess report card is honestly pretty darned embarrassing, so I cherish the gold star I get every holiday season for ‘Baking with Love.’  I work with my strengths, people.  Plus, chocolate confections are great motivators to tackle cleaning the bathroom.

… last but not least, I’ll have our homeschool space actually ready to go for Sept 2nd, the day after our local Not-Back-To-School picnic.  Hm… chocolate, anyone?

This entry was posted in arts and craftiness, books, curricula, language arts, social studies, STEM and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Theory…

  1. Kristen says:

    I’ve been toying with the idea of picking up Singapore. I intend on using it with our current Miquon curriculum. I’m just not sure when to start it up. So far my oldest is happy playing with the rods on Miqon..

    Also, I looked at the Story of Science but thought I’d save it for farther down the road. I’d love to know how you implement it and what you think of it.

    I toyed with the idea of starting SOTW but think I will wait another year or so in the hopes that my two older children will go through the cycles together.

  2. Siggi says:

    I contemplated holding off on SOTW until my 3 yo was older, but, in prepping it this week, I’m REALLY glad that I decided not to wait: the storytelling language is really geared for young kids, IMO. I’m kind of afraid that my girls (aged 5) might be insulted by it as it is; I picked up a used Ancient History textbook at B&N this afternoon, just in case. :/

    I don’t know much about Miqon, but we’re starting with Singapore 1A, and it looks to start off pretty reasonably. I’ll try to post about some of our early lessons, so you can get a better idea of where it jumps in, and the pace of the whole thing.

    Regarding Story of Science, I couldn’t resist, esp since I have the excuse of putting it all in historical context. I’ve had it on my wishlist for a year now, and no one took the hint! >;)

Leave a Reply

